The History of London’s Camden Market

Camden Market is one of London’s largest, most popular and iconic markets, receiving over 100,000 visitors per week. Here we explore its history.

Camden Market has been open since 1974. The iconic market in Central London initially started with 16 stalls but now has over 1000 places where locals and visitors can shop, eat, drink and have fun. While it was originally only open on Sundays, the largest market in London is now always open seven days a week for all things fashion, trade and music.

Location and accessibility

Camden Market is located on the banks of Regents Canal. It’s central location at a big junction in North London means it is easy to get to whether taking a bus from west London, underground, train, or even via a bicycle.

History of the Camden Market

It all started as a small market with temporary stalls only open on Sundays. The first food stall was owned by June Foulds, who participated in the 1952 and 1956 Olympics, winning Bronze and Silver. It is split into two sections, namely the Stables Market and Camden Lock Market. The Stables section features clothes, home décor, handmade crafts, antiques and furniture. The Camden Lock section, which is on the other side of the canal, features numerous food stalls.

Why Camden Market is very popular

A visit to London is not considered complete without a visit to this iconic market. It attracts thousands of locals and visitors throughout the year. Camden is cool, electric, vibrant and experimental, where diversity and uniqueness are celebrated. This means that visitors will not feel out of place as it is accommodating to everyone.

Camden Market is appealing and welcome to all regardless of one’s fashion, music or style. While you will find many stalls open throughout the week, the best days are usually Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.